PDA

View Full Version : Amazon and the "kid unpacking the gifts" psychology

vatsia
08-05-2005, 07:23 AM
Hello,
today i had a strange feeling that i want to share.As you may know i am new in affiliate stuff and as allmost everybody i started with amazon. I build 3 sites , 2 with the freekay script (default design) and 1 with a customized version of the tutorial from this site with a nice custom design.The last one gave me my first check and the other 2 only exist.

Yesterday one of the simple and forgotten sites made me a good sale of 10 items with an item price of 150$. Today when i was about to type my associates password to see my reports and if everything was shipped, i got that exciting feeling that i had as kid at christmas when i was unpacking gifts :D

I never thought that i would feel that way again :o . I am sure everybody has had similar feelings with his sales. I now understand what makes online business so unique: you don't have to worry about loses(you don't pay rents for shops or personnel etc only a small hosting fee) and you are satisfied with each dollar that comes in, while being your own boss.

I think this feeling is the nicest part of doing online business an is worth to be mentioned in an affiliate forum among money and advertising related topics ;)

James
08-05-2005, 08:03 AM
It's also a very nice (albiet time consuming--though, you can earn money and have a successful website with little time if you're lucky and smart) hobby to have, and there are more nice webmasters than not nice webmasters out there that you'll see (from my experience).

Congratulations on your sales.

Cutter
08-05-2005, 09:04 AM
The first time I hit $10 in one day for Adsense I went nuts. At that point I knew I could do it, and I hadn't wasted my whole summer for nothing.