PDA

View Full Version : DMOZ Top Listed Domains

dvduval
07-04-2005, 09:16 PM
I know there are some opportunists that are editors, and to some degree there are checks and balances, but I believe certain Metas pretty much do whatever they want. Some of these can be justified, so please don't think I am saying these are not supposed to be there (judge for yourself). Here is a listing of the domains with the most listings in DMOZ:

http://www.whois.sc/internet-statistics/dmoz-listings.html

If you look, I think you will find some real winners (sarcastic tone of course).

Chris
07-04-2005, 09:41 PM
I'm on that list, #690

dvduval
07-04-2005, 11:54 PM
Whew! I'm glad you didn't say #6586. :)
Are you also an editor?

chromate
07-05-2005, 05:29 AM
Wow, that's a lot of listings Chris. Imagine if they stopped sending PR :eek:. Thankfully that'd be extremely unlikely.

Chris
07-05-2005, 06:33 AM
I used to be an editor, but I am only directly responsible for about 100 of those listings. I also never deleted a competitor's site. I was trying to be fair. When I was editing had a competitor only submitted their site I would have listed it as much as mine.

I used to have more, 278, but there has been some attrition over the years (maybe due to editors who own competing sites).

All those listings way back when were a great PR boost, now though I have thousands of links and every day they're less and less important.

If you want to see this to the extreme though you should look at Zeal. There are a couple Indians at Zeal who have added possibly a hundred thousand of their own site's listings (more likely they have a bunch of cheap data entry labor doing it for them with their accounts).

dvduval
07-05-2005, 08:12 AM
That's very interesting, Chris. It's good to know you are not an editor.
Like you, I have thousands of links, and the ODP listings have a much depreciated importance.