View Full Version : 2 questions from a noob
waldoaustralia
06-21-2004, 08:07 AM
I have two questions that are slightly related, although they may not appear so. I am developing a web page, and the opening page is a flash page.....but for some reason on all of my buttons, I can't get the syntax to work....here is an example of my code...but it says it is looking for an expected field name after '.' operator
Contact.on(release){getURL("http://www.blahmurray.com.au/contact.html")}
Second question is...I am trying to build an image gallery, that puts thumbnails up on the site, and when you click on it, it gives you a full view of the image....but I want to be able to upload the picks just into a folder, and not have to use dreamweaver or anything...is that possible. Does it have to be database driven..and how would I do that?
Thanks
Chris
06-21-2004, 09:01 AM
There are free image gallery scripts. Search on Google for "Gallery" or "PhotoPost"
Best.Flash
06-21-2004, 09:13 AM
but for some reason on all of my buttons, I can't get the syntax to work....here is an example of my code...but it says it is looking for an expected field name after '.' operator
Contact.on(release){getURL("http://www.blahmurray.com.au/contact.html")}
If your attaching the getURL directly to a button you can use:
on (release) {
getURL("http://www.blahmurray.com.au/contact.html");
}
or if your using Instance named buttons you can use:
button_instance_name.onRelease = function() {
getURL("http://www.blahmurray.com.au/contact.html");
};
waldoaustralia
06-21-2004, 09:23 AM
I am using instance named buttons, however, why do I need the function ()? Just curious, and why does it require 2 } at the end? Lame questions I know, but still confused...how would I simply attach the script to teh button? I wanted to do that, but could figure it out? Now I feel lame.
waldoaustralia
06-21-2004, 09:34 AM
By the way, I forgot in the last message to thank you both for your help!
waldoaustralia
06-21-2004, 10:09 AM
Is it possible to actionscript an image gallery in flash to access an external folder rather than have to load a server side script? My reasoning is that i believe if I want to run a script on my site, I have to pay more for my own server, as they won't let me share a server then.
Best.Flash
06-21-2004, 11:12 AM
I am using instance named buttons, however, why do I need the function ()?
Had to look up the exact reason....
http://www.macromedia.com/support/flash/action_scripts/actionscript_dictionary/actionscript_dictionary094.html
and my guess is because your attaching the event to a instance named button (or movieclip etc.) indirectly that's the reason you must define a function that executes when the event is invoked.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2024 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.